What Do You See?

Leave a comment

August 2, 2012 by thomasjoeakins

Image

I always wondered why grandpa would ask me about the value of ONE penny. Whenever he would lecture me about it he would reach down in his pocket and pull out a penny. He would then stretch out his arm squint with one eye and say the same line “What do you see?”

The first time he asked me I said “It’s just a penny.” From that day on he would always ask me the same question…”What do you see.” My answer was always the same…”a penny grandpa, it’s still a penny”

When grandpa passed it was the saddest day of my life. I remember going to his funeral like it was yesterday. I remember as I was giving the eulogy out of nowhere I heard him say “What do you see?” I don’t know if I was just imagining it. Then as I kept speaking and looking out at the crowd it all made sense.

I forgot to tell you guys that my grampa had over 2,500 people at his funeral. It was as if time stood still for that very second and I was thinking to myself…He saw in the penny something I couldn’t!

He saw VALUE in that ONE penny while I only saw…a penny. He understood that ONE person could make a difference. He also understood that ONE person could be rich in GIVING.

That’s why he would always go and do magic for the kid’s at shriners hospital on the weekends up until his late 70’s. That’s why he would volunteer for community events in the neiborhood. That’s why he gave one of his kidneys to a total stranger when he was younger. That’s why he was happily married for 62 years with grandma and that’s why he had over 2,500 people at his funeral that day.

I have learned a lesson that will stick with me until the day I die…I truly understand the value of ONE!

He was the greatest man that ever lived…even as I write this tears roll down my eyes. This ONE man made a difference in the lives of many and I hope that one day I can be even half the man he was.

In Grandpas “Will” Guess what was now mine? The penny. It came with this note. “ThomasJoe be wise with this, it’s yours now. I can finally tell you that this penny is worth more than you could ever imagine!” Love, Grandpa

* This is what the penny was worth if you guys are interested in knowing http://ti.me/bQLUSD

Leave a comment